Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Skip to main content

2020-2021 Counselor Recognition Program

​​​​​​​2020-2021 Orange County K-12 School Counselor Recognition Program


National School Counseling Week is celebrated the first week in February to recognize School Counselors' unique contribution within the U.S. school systems. During this special week, the Orange County Department of Education recognizes exemplary Orange County School Counselors and School Counselor Advocates who work tirelessly to support our Orange County students and families. This year, The Orange County Counselor Recognition and School Counselor Advocate Award Program recognizes six incredible School Counselors and three School Counselor Advocates. ​

Each awardee demonstrates a high level of commitment in: 

  • Developing a comprehensive School Counseling Program focused on the American School Counselor Association National Model Domains : Academic, Social/Emotional and College/Career Supports.
  • Leadership and advocacy not only to the SC profession
  • Leadership and support of a Multi-Tiered System of Support through data-based decision making in order to support the whole child.

OCDE honors school counselors​ for contributions and support during an unprecedented year. 

Orange County K-12 School Counselor of the Year Award

The 2021 OC School Counselor of the Year Award Recipients are:

High School

  • Veronica Alvarez, Savanna High School, Anaheim Union High School District
  • Robert Stelmar, Brea Olinda High School, Brea Olinda Unified School District​

Middle School

  • Jessica Sandoval, Marco Forster Middle School, Capistrano Unified School District
  • Laurie Tristan, MacArthur Fundamental Intermediate School, Santa Ana Unified School District
Elementary School

  • Julie Chutuk, Kinoshita Elementary School, Capistrano Unified School District
  • Rosa Chavez, Ponderosa Elementary School, Anaheim Elementary School District


Orange County K-12 School Counselor Advocate Award

The 2021 OC School Counselor Advocate Awardees are:​

  • Jenny Thai, Counselor on Special Assignment, Capistrano Unified School District
  • Nicol Jones and Kathryn White, Officers of Parent Teacher Student Organization, Cerro Villa Middle School, Orange Unified School District