

## Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

## COMMISSION MEMBERS

R. DAVID GAUDI JR., Ed.D.

Chairperson Hawaii Association of Independent Schools

ODIE J. DOUGLAS Vice Chairperson Association of California School Administrators

MICHAEL ALVAREZ Western Catholic Educational Association

CUAUHTEMOC AVILA, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

GRANT BENNETT Association of California School Administrators

JANICE BLABER Hawaii State Department of Education

DANNY BLAS California Teachers Association

KEVIN COLLINS, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

MICHAEL COLLINS California Association of Private School Organizations

GREGORY DHUYVETTER Western Catholic Educational Association

LEE DUNCAN, Ed.D. Association of Christian Schools

TOBY ELMORE California Association of Private School Organizations

JUAN A. FLECHA Association of California School Administrators

KRISTIE FLOHRA National Lutheran School Accreditation

ANDREA FUKUMOTO Hawaii State Department of Education

CAROL GREEN California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

GREGORY HEDGER, Ed.D. East Asia Regional Council of Schools

ESTHER KANEHAILUA Hawaii State Department of Education

CINDY KAZANIS California Department of Education

KAWENA MARTINEZ

MONIQUE MCWAYNE California Department of Education

LINDA NORMAN, Ed.D. Western Catholic Educational Association

CHRISTOPHER OASE, D.A. California School Boards Association

DOREEN OLESON, Ed.D. California Association of Independent Schools

ANDREW RODRIGUEZ California Federation of Teachers

MATTHEW RUSSO, Ed.D. Postsecondary Education

JASON SAMPLE Charter Schools

JONATHAN SCHILD, Ed.D. Western Catholic Educational Association

DAVID SCIARRETTA, Ed.D.

LAURA STEFANSKI Public Member, California

KATHERINE THOROSSIAN, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

BERIT VON POHLE, Ed.D. Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

DIANA WALSH-REUSS, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

LIVINGSTON (JACK) WONG Public Member, Hawaii June 28, 2023

Kirk Anderson, Program Administrator ACCESS Juvenile Hall / Fischer Administrative Unit 1715 E. Wilshire Ave., Ste. 706 Santa Ana, California 92705

Dear Kirk Anderson:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Summer 2023 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined ACCESS Juvenile Hall / Fischer Administrative Unit (K-12) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the school's report, and the satisfactory completion of the accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant six-year accreditation status through June 30, 2029 with a mid-cycle report in the 2025-2026 school year.

ACCESS Juvenile Hall / Fischer Administrative Unit is required to submit a mid-cycle progress report. The report should demonstrate that the school has: 1) addressed the growth areas for continuous improvement through the schoolwide action plan; 2) made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and 3) improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon ACCESS Juvenile Hall / Fischer Administrative Unit's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

The Commission looks forward to ACCESS Juvenile Hall / Fischer Administrative Unit's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

R. David Gaudi Jr., Ed.D. Commission Chairperson

c: Visiting Committee Chairperson Superintendent