Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Skip to main content

Computer Science Standards

​The California Computer Science Standards are based on computer science core concepts and core practices aligned to the K12 Computer Science Framework. The standards were developed by a multidisciplinary team of educators utilizing work done by the K12 CS Framework, National Science Foundation (NSF), Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA), and representatives from industry to ensure standards incorporated the key concepts and practices necessary for students be successful in college and career. 

The core concepts represent what a student should know and understand. Each core concept consists of 3 to 6 sub-concepts that delineate each concept into specific focus areas. The core practices represent a way of doing computer science; there are 7 practices and 23 sub-practices. To access California's K12 Computer Science Standards and related resources, please see below.

​Introduction (Click to access)
​Computer science is an essential component of a broad and comprehensive education, containing necessary foundational concepts and corresponding practices that ensure opportunities for success in our increasingly competitive, globally connected economy.

​California K-12 Computer Science Standards

​While coding (Algorithms and Programming) is an important part of Computer Science (CS), CS is so much more!  The standards are based on the core concepts and practices of the K-12 Computer Science Framework. The core concepts and practices serve to articulate the breadth of content embedded within the standards.

​California K12 CS Standards Appendix

​As the shortcut to content integrations, the CS Standards Appendix document provides multiple opportunities for articulation by demonstrating the multiple entry points of the CS Standards into content areas. From science, to mathematics, and to the arts, there are rich opportunities to integrate CS.

​CS Standards Progression Chart
​​​Computer science core concepts and practices in the standards are vertically aligned, coherent across grades, and designed in developmentally appropriate grade spans K–2, 3–5, 6–8, and 9–12. The K12 standards are referred to as core. The 9–12 grade span also includes an additional set of standards, referred to as 9–1​​2 Specialty.
  1. The California K12 Computer Science Standards are made up of 5 discrete concepts that are divided into 3 to 5 sub-concepts. In total there are 5 concepts and 16 sub-concepts. 
  2. Concept Subconcept.png
The California K12 Computer Science Standards are made up of  ​7 co​re practices and 23 sub-practices. The practices are stand alone and not meant to be taught in a specific sequential order.

Picture  Picture  Picture  Picture

Thank you for visiting the Educational Services Division Computer Science webpage. Please see standards, resource links, as well as opportunities for professional learning. 

Should you have any questions, or need any information, please contact:

Omar Shepherd
Curriculum Specialist, STEM/Career Education
Educational Service
Phone: 714-327-1069​